Just Women’s Sports is keeping tabs on all of the NWSL players who are competing at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. Of the 23-member USWNT squad, 22 players compete domestically in the NWSL (all save Lindsey Horan).

As of July 9, 2023, 57 current NWSL players — representing 15 nations — are slated to compete at the World Cup.

NWSL players competing at the World Cup were released from their teams on June 26. The NWSL doesn’t take a break for the World Cup, but teams will have a lighter workload during the tournament, with no games scheduled from July 10-20 and from Aug. 7-17. The World Cup window will also feature more Challenge Cup games in order to have less of an impact on the regular season NWSL standings.

See below for a team-by-team NWSL breakdown. Please note that list only includes players who are currently on NWSL rosters.

Angel City FC

  • Jun Endo (Japan)
  • Julie Ertz (USWNT)
  • Alyssa Thompson (USWNT)
  • Ali Riley (New Zealand)
  • Note: Amandine Henry was initially expected to compete for France, but she is missing the World Cup due to injury

Chicago Red Stars

  • Alyssa Naeher (USWNT)
  • Cheyna Matthews (Jamaica)

Houston Dash 

  • Michelle Alozie (Nigeria)
  • Sophie Schmidt (Canada)
  • Nichelle Prince (Canada)
  • Allysha Chapman (Canada)
  • Havana Solaun (Jamaica)

Kansas City Current

  • Debinha (Brazil)
  • Note: Desiree Scott was on Canada’s provisional roster, but wasn’t selected to the final World Cup team due to injury

NJ/NY Gotham FC 

  • Sinead Farrelly (Ireland)
  • Ifeoma Onumonu (Nigeria)
  • Kelley O’Hara (USWNT)
  • Lynn Williams (USWNT)
  • Kristie Mewis (USWNT)
  • Bruninha (Brazil)

North Carolina Courage

  • Denise O’Sullivan (Ireland)
  • Casey Murphy (USWNT)
  • Emily Fox (USWNT)
  • Kerolin (Brazil)
  • Mille Gejl (Denmark)
  • Rikki Madsen (Denmark)

OL Reign 

  • Quinn (Canada)
  • Jordyn Huitema (Canada)
  • Sofia Huerta (USWNT)
  • Alana Cook (USWNT)
  • Emily Sonnett (USWNT)
  • Megan Rapinoe (USWNT)
  • Rose Lavelle (USWNT)

Orlando Pride

  • Marta (Brazil)
  • Adriana (Brazil)

Portland Thorns FC 

  • Adriana Leon (Canada)
  • Christine Sinclair (Canada)
  • Hina Sugita (Japan)
  • Raquel Rodriquez (Costa Rica)
  • Sophia Smith (USWNT)
  • Crystal Dunn (USWNT)

Racing Louisville FC 

  • Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)
  • Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria)
  • Alex Chidiac (Australia)
  • Savannah DeMelo (USWNT)
  • Ary (Brazil)
  • Wang Shuang (China)

San Diego Wave FC 

  • Kailen Sheridan (Canada)
  • Sofia Jakobsson (Sweden)
  • Naomi Girma (USWNT)
  • Alex Morgan (USWNT)
  • Emily van Egmond (Australia)

Washington Spirit FC 

  • Marissa Sheva (Ireland)
  • Ashley Sanchez (USWNT)
  • Andi Sullivan (USWNT)
  • Trinity Rodman (USWNT)
  • Aubrey Kingsbury (USWNT)
  • Riley Tanner (Panama)
  • Gabrielle Carle (Canada)