all scores

2021 Summer Series to feature USWNT in Austin

Brad Smith/ISI Photos

U.S. Soccer has revealed the schedule for the 2021 WNT Summer Series.

The series will feature the United States, Portugal, Jamaica and Nigeria as the final international games for the USWNT before the naming of the 18-player Olympic team.

Due to a change in the international match window by FIFA, the matches will be treated as friendlies.

The U.S. is the only one of the four teams to have qualified for the Olympics. The match against Nigeria will mark the first time the USWNT has faced the team outside of a world championship and will be the third-ever friendly against an African country, with the USWNT’s previous two games coming against South Africa. Portugal is one of many European teams making big strides in the women’s game, while Jamaica qualified for its first Women’s World Cup in 2019 after Cedella Marley brought the team back from extinction.

The first five games of the series will take place at BBVA Stadium in Houston. The final game between the U.S. and Nigeria will be played at Q2 Stadium in Austin.

It will be the first soccer game at the brand new stadium, home of Major League Soccer’s newest club, Austin FC. It will also be the first time a U.S. Soccer senior national team has ever made an appearance in the city of Austin.

It’s expected that fans will be allowed to attend, with ticket information being released soon. The full schedule can be found below.

2021 WNT Summer Series schedule (all times ET)

  • Jamaica vs. Nigeria: June 10 @ 5:30 p.m.
  • USA vs. Portugal: June 10 @ 8:30 p.m. on FS1
  • Portugal vs. Nigeria: June 13 @ 7 p.m.
  • USA vs. Jamaica: June 13 @ 10 p.m. on FS1
  • USA vs. Nigeria: June 16 @ 9 p.m. on ESPN2