Captain Christine Sinclair headlines Canada soccer’s June roster

Christine Sinclair criticized Canada Soccer for its "culture of secrecy and obstruction." (Silvestre Szpylma/Quality Sport Images/Getty Images)

Canada announced its roster for the June international window on Tuesday for the team’s upcoming friendly against the Korea Republic on June 26.

Currently, 28 players will head into camp for the June window. Among the 28 players, 21 were on Canada’s gold-medal winning team in Tokyo. The full 23-person roster will be decided from the 28 players selected prior to the team’s friendly. That same roster will then play in the 2022 Concacaf W Championship.

“We’re excited to get another game in front of our fans and to have many players from the Toronto area return home for the first time in a long time,” head coach Bev Priestman said. “The June window is about selecting the final 23 player roster and working on ourselves heading into a critical tournament this summer and Korea will provide a great test for us.”

Captain Christine Sinclair headlines the team with 310 international appearances. Missing, however, is Stephanie Labbé who played in her final international match in April.

Anna Karpenko, Lysianne Proulx and Bianca St-Georges are all new additions to the squad and will have an opportunity to make their case for the final roster.

The full roster:

Goalkeepers: Sabrina D’Angelo (Vittsjö GIK), Anna Karpenko (Harvard University), Lysianne Proulx (Unattached), Kailen Sheridan (San Diego Wave FC)

Defenders: Kadeisha Buchanan (Chelsea FC), Vanessa Gilles (Angel City FC), Shelina Zadorsky (Tottenham Hotspur), Zoe Burns (University of Southern California), Gabrielle Carle (Kristianstads DFF), Allysha Chapman (Houston Dash), Ashley Lawrence (Paris Saint-Germain), Jayde Riviere (AFC Ann Arbour), Bianca St-Georges (Chicago Red Stars)

Midfielders: Marie-Yasmine Alidou d’Anjou (SK Sturm Graz), Jessie Fleming (Chelsea FC), Julia Grosso (Juventus FC), Quinn (OL Reign), Sophie Schmidt (Houston Dash), Desiree Scott (Kansas City Current), Sarah Stratigakis (Vittsjö GIK)

Forwards: Janine Beckie (Portland Thorns FC), Jordyn Huitema (Paris Saint-Germain), Cloé Lacasse (SL Benfica), Adriana Leon (West Ham United FC), Nichelle Prince (Houston Dash), Deanne Rose (Reading FC), Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns FC), Évelyne Viens (Kristianstads DFF)