all scores

Chicago Sky win first WNBA Championship in franchise history

Stacy Revere/Getty Images

The Chicago Sky are WNBA Champions for the first time in franchise history after coming from behind to defeat the Phoenix Mercury 80-74 on Sunday. The team mounted a 14-point comeback to become the first-ever sixth seed to take home the title.

Allie Quigley led the Sky in points with 26, including a string of three-pointers in the fourth quarter to help put Chicago ahead down the stretch.

Candace Parker contributed 16 points, 13 rebounds, and five assists, while Courtney Vandersloot added 10 points, 15 assists, and nine rebounds.

Kahleah Copper was awarded the Finals MVP trophy following the game, averaging 17 points per game during the series.

Chicago’s road to the championship included surviving two single-elimination games, taking out No. 1 seed Connecticut, and downing a veteran Phoenix team for the title.

The 2021 championship marks Candace Parker’s first for her hometown team in her debut season with the Sky.