Elaine Thompson-Herah headlines Laureus World Sports award winners

Elaine Thompson-Herah of Team Jamaica celebrates after winning gold in the Women's 200m final on day eleven of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at Olympic Stadium on August 03, 2021 in Tokyo, Japan. (Photo by David J. Phillip-Pool/Getty Images)

Olympic gold medalist Elaine Thompson-Herah has been named the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year, earning the honor during a digital ceremony hosted from Seville on Sunday.

The Jamaican sprinter topped the podium in the 100m and 200m at the Tokyo Olympics last summer, setting an Olympic record in the 100m with a time of 10.61 seconds. She also helped her team to gold in the 4x100m relay.

“I know Usain (Bolt) has won Laureus Awards before, so to bring this trophy back home to the Caribbean, also in Jamaica, is very special,” said Thompson-Herah.

Tennis star Emma Raducanu received the Laureus Breakthrough of the Year Award for her victory at the U.S. Open last September. With her straight-set defeat of Leylah Fernandez, the 18-year-old became the first qualifier ever to win a Grand Slam.

Fellow British teen Sky Brown was also honored during the ceremony, taking home the Laureus World Comeback of the Year award. After suffering a skull fracture during training in June, the 13-year-old recovered in time to compete at the Tokyo Olympics, where she earned a bronze medal in the park event.

The Laureus Action Sportsperson of the Year honor went to Bethany Shriever of Britain after the 22-year-old cyclist won BMX gold at the Olympics and World Championships.

The award winners were determined by a secret ballot involving 71 voting members of the Laureus World Sports Academy.