all scores

Florida State star, Louisville draft pick Jaelin Howell wins Mac Hermann Trophy

(Jamie Schwaberow/NCAA Photos via Getty Images)

Jaelin Howell won the Mac Hermann trophy once again, becoming the sixth player in history to receive the honor in back-to-back seasons.

The Florida State star was announced as the 2021 recipient during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday night. Coaches vote on the most coveted individual award in Division I soccer, which recognizes the best player during the NCAA season.

Howell beat out BYU midfielder Mikayla Colohan and Santa Clara forward Kelsey Turnbow for the honor.

Friday’s award ceremony capped a landmark season for Howell, who led Florida State to the NCAA Championship in December before being selected second overall in the 2022 NWSL Draft by Racing Louisville.

The midfielder notched three goals and four assists in her 25 appearances with the Seminoles in 2021, anchoring the team in the center of the field. She was named a First-Team All-American and the ACC Midfielder of the Year for the second year in a row.

Howell joins U.S. women’s national team stars Catarina Macario, Morgan Gautrat, Cindy Parlow Cone and Mia Hamm as a back-to-back Mac Hermann champion.