Monika Czinano leads Iowa past Indiana for Big Ten Tournament title


Iowa defeated Indiana 76-67 on Sunday to win the Big Ten tournament championship, one week after earning a share of the Big Ten regular season title. It was the first time in program history that the Hawkeyes have won both crowns in a single season.

Monika Czinano led the way for Iowa, scoring a game-high 30 points on 13-for-18 shooting and pulling down 10 rebounds to help the Hawkeyes pull away down the stretch.

Indiana hung tough throughout the game, with guard Nicole Cardaño-Hillary quieting Iowa star Caitlin Clark with her defense. Clark connected on just one of her seven attempted 3-point shots, but finished with 18 points to win tournament MVP

Four Indiana starters finished the game in double figures, led by Grace Berger’s 20 points, but as a team, Indiana shot just 37.7 percent to Iowa’s 50.

With the win, Iowa officially stamped its ticket to the NCAA Tournament.