NCAA field hockey Final Four set after weekend of upsets


The NCAA Field Hockey Final Four is set after a weekend filled with upsets. Liberty-Maryland and Harvard-Northwestern will meet in the semifinal matchups on Friday.

No. 7 Northwestern kicked off the action on Friday, taking down three-time defending national champion North Carolina 2-0 in the first round. With the win, the Wildcats became the first Big Ten team to knock off the reigning NCAA champion since 2018. It was also the first time since 2007 that the reigning NCAA champion has been shut out in a tournament game.

Now, for the first time in three years, the NCAA will crown a new field hockey champion.

Northwestern’s weekend didn’t end there. The Wildcats punched their ticket to the Final Four on Sunday, with Lauren Wadas scoring in the final minute to knock off No. 4 Iowa. The game was a rematch of last year’s Elite Eight matchup, which Iowa won.

Later on Sunday, No. 12 Harvard took down No. 2 Michigan 1-0 to clinch the first Final Four berth in program history.

The game remained scoreless through regulation and two overtime periods. The Crimson advanced in the penalty shootout after all three of Harvard’s players converted their shots and all three Michigan players missed.

No. 1 seed Rutgers also went down Sunday, with No. 9 Liberty defeating the Scarlet Knights 3-2 in a penalty shootout thanks to Charlotte Vaanhold’s game-winning goal.

Liberty will face No. 5 Maryland on Friday after the Terrapins knocked off No. 10 Syracuse 2-1. Emma DeBerdine fed Bibi Donraadt for a goal to secure the win and a trip to the Final Four.

The Final Four will take place in Ann Arbor, Mich. on Friday, with the championship game set for Sunday at 2 p.m. ET.

Final Four schedule

  • No. 5 Maryland vs. No. 9 Liberty at 12 p.m.
  • No. 7 Northwestern vs. No. 12 Harvard at 3 p.m.

*All times ET