North Carolina lacrosse enters NCAA tournament as No. 1 seed


The NCAA unveiled the bracket for the women’s lacrosse tournament Sunday night, with 29 teams selected to compete for a national title.

North Carolina took the No. 1 overall seed following its sixth straight ACC tournament title. The Tar Heels took the top spot for the second straight year after they finished the regular season 18-0.

Big Ten conference champion Maryland (17-1) earned the No. 2 seed, while defending national champions Boston College (16-3) sits at No. 3. Northwestern (13-4) rounds out the top four.

First-round games begin May 13, with eight sites hosting first- and second-round competition from Friday through Sunday. From there, four quarterfinal games will take place on May 19. The preliminary rounds will take place on college campuses and air live on ESPN+.

The semifinals will take place on Friday, May 27, at 3 and 5 p.m. ET on ESPNU, while the national championship will air live on ESPN on Sunday, May 29, at 12 p.m. ET. All of the games will take place at Johns Hopkins’ Homewood Field in Baltimore, Maryland.

A total of 15 teams earned automatic qualification through winning their conference, while 14 teams received at-large bids.