all scores

Christen Press, Nneka Ogwumike headline Stanford’s first all-women HOF class

(Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

The Stanford athletic department announced Sunday its first all-women Hall of Fame class in school history, in a continuation of its Title IX 50th anniversary celebrations.

Christen Press and Nneka Ogwumike will headline the class of eight athletes.

The list of inductees also includes Tara VanDerveer, who will be honored for her legendary basketball coaching career, which includes three national titles in her 36 seasons at Stanford.

Eligible for induction 10 years after their final competition season, the athletes being honored have produced four NCAA team championships and six individual NCAA titles as well as Olympic medals and national player of the year awards. All eight athletes were All-Americans during their time at Stanford.

They will be inducted in a ceremony on Friday, Sept. 9, and honored during Stanford’s football game against USC the following day.

Full list of inductees:

  • Lisa Bernhagen Ramos, track and field, 1986-89
  • Elaine Breeden Penrose, swimming and diving, 2007-10
  • Margie Dingeldein, water polo, 1999-2002
  • Ashley Hansen, softball, 2009-12
  • Carly Janiga Reardon, gymnastics, 2007-10
  • Nneka Ogwumike, basketball, 2009-12
  • Christen Press, soccer, 2007-10
  • Sally Voss Krueger, golf, 1976-79
  • Tara VanDerveer, basketball coach, 1985-present
  • Linda Meijer, special recognition for service to athletic department