all scores

New York Breakers enter quarantine as ISL season three begins


As the International Swimming League continues its first weekend of its third season, it will do so potentially without one of its teams.

The league announced Thursday that a member of the New York Breakers team had tested positive for COVID-19. As a result, the entire New York Breakers team are currently in individual isolation until at least Saturday, Aug. 28.

The Breakers are set to compete in a four-way meet against the Cali Condors, LA Current and Tokyo Frog Kings on Saturday and Sunday. Per the release, team members will be tested early Saturday morning and will be allowed to compete if they test negative.

As the season kicks off, the Cali Condors will look to repeat as champions. This season also serves as a farewell tour for world record holder and Aqua Centurions’ captain Federica Pellegrini, who announced her retirement in June.

What are the teams?

There are eight teams competing in ISL season three. They are:

  • Energy Standard (Paris, France)
  • Toronto Titans (Toronto, Canada)
  • DC Trident (Washington, D.C.)
  • Aqua Centurions (Rome, Italy)
  • Cali Condors (San Francisco, CA)
  • LA Current (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Tokyo Frog Kings (Tokyo, Japan)
  • New York Breakers (New York, NY)

When is it?

The regular season runs from Aug. 26 through Sept. 26 in Naples, Italy. All eight teams compete every weekend, Thursday through Sunday, in two-day matches.

Teams will rotate when they compete, with four teams competing in a match at a time. In total, there are 10 matches through five weekends in the regular season.

At the end of the regular season, the top six teams will move on. The seventh through 10th ranked teams will then compete for two spots in the playoffs on Sept. 29 and 30.

Currently, the playoffs are set to begin on Nov. 11 and run through the 28th in Eindhoven, Netherlands. Six matches will be spread out over three weekends to determine the teams that will move on to the finals. The finals are set to take place Feb. 7 and 8 with a location yet to be determined.

Where to watch:

Matches will be aired on different CBS Network as follows:

  • Match 2 (regular season) – CAC, LAC, TOK, NYB
    • Aug. 28 at 2 p.m. on CBSSN
    • Aug. 29 at 2 p.m. on CBS
  • Match 3 (regular season) – ENS, LON, IRO, NYB
    • Sept. 2 at 2 p.m. on CBSSN
    • Sept. 3 at 1 p.m. on CBSSN
  • Match 5 (regular season) – LAC, IRO, TOR, DCT
    • Sept. 9 at 2 p.m. on CBSSN
    • Sept. 10 at 2 p.m. on CBSSN
  • Match 9 (regular season) – ENS, LON, TOR, DCT
    • Sept. 23 at 2 p.m. on CBSSN
    • Sept. 24 at 2 p.m. on CBSSN
  • March 12 (play-offs) – Clubs TBD
    • Nov. 11 at 1 p.m. on CBSSN
    • Nov. 12 at 1 p.m. on CBSSN
  • ISL Final (Day 2) – Clubs TBD
    • Feb. 8 at 10 a.m. on CBSSN

*all times ET

In addition to the CBS coverage, the matches can also be streamed on the ISL website with a subscription.