Swin Cash headlines 2022 Basketball Hall of Fame inductees

Mike Stobe/NBAE via Getty Images

WNBA stars Swin Cash and Lindsay Whalen have been elected to the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, as part of the official announcement Saturday.

Cash, A four-time WNBA All-Star, played six seasons with the Detroit Shock, averaging 12.8 points, 5.8 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game and guiding the team to two WNBA championships.

The guard also played with the Seattle Storm, Chicago Sky, Atlanta Dream and New York Liberty during her 15-year career and now serves as the vice president of basketball operations and team development for the New Orleans Pelicans.

Before turning pro, Cash led UConn to a historic 39-0 season and an NCAA championship as a senior in 2002. She finished her college career as a two-time national champion and the NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player in 2002.

Cash, 42, is also a 2004 and 2012 Olympic gold medalist and in September was named to the β€œW25,” a list of the WNBA’s best 25 players of all time.

Whalen joins Cash in the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022.

The current University of Minnesota head coach led the Gophers to a Final Four as a player before entering the WNBA in 2004.

Whalen retired from the WNBA in 2018 after five seasons with the Connecticut Sun and eight seasons with the Minnesota Lynx, where she won four WNBA championships. The five-time WNBA All-Star has won more games than any other player in the league, with 307 total victories.

An integral part of Team USA, Whalen also has two gold medals from the 2012 and 2016 Olympic Games.