Nelly Korda was fighting to give Team USA the lead in the Solheim Cup on Saturday, going head-to-head with the European duo of Nanna Koerstz-Madsen and Madelene Sagstrom on the 13th hole.
The American was putting for eagle on the par-5 hole when her seemingly perfectly executed putt stopped just short of the cup. Sagstrom then picked up Korda’s ball and tossed it to her, conceding the tap-in.
Shortly after the incident, the players were confronted by a rules official. According to the sport’s rules, Korda’s ball was slightly overhanging the hole and she should have been allotted 10 seconds to reach her ball and make sure it had stopped moving.
The Europeans contested that the ball was not overhanging the cup, but the official review determined the move violated Rule 13.3 A. As a result, Korda’s putt was considered holed and the U.S. went 1 up on Day 1 of the competition.
Korda and teammate Ally Ewing maintained the narrow lead throughout the match, giving Team USA a slight edge heading into Sunday’s round.