USA Basketball Announces 20-Person AmeriCup Trials Roster


Twenty of the nation’s top collegiate basketball players will be getting together in South Carolina to determine who will be part of the 2021 USA Basketball Women’s AmeriCup Team.

USA Basketball announced the 20-person roster Wednesday. The team will be led by USA National Team head coach Dawn Staley and assistants Adia Barnes (University of Arizona) and Jennifer Rizzotti (2021 USA National Team assistant coach). 

Those who were announced to have accepted invites are:

  • Grace Berger (Indiana)
  • Aliyah Boston (South Carolina)
  • Jakia Brown-Turner (NC State)
  • Rae Burrell (Tennessee)
  • Veronica Burton (Northwestern)
  • Zia Cooke (South Carolina)
  • Elissa Cunane (NC State)
  • Destanni Henderson (South Carolina)
  • Naz Hillmon (Michigan)
  • Rhyne Howard (Kentucky)
  • Ashley Joens (Iowa State)
  • Haley Jones (Stanford)
  • Elizabeth Kitley (Virginia Tech)
  • Diamond Miller (Maryland)
  • Ashley Ousu (Maryland)
  • Khayla Pointer (Louisiana State)
  • Sedona Prince (Oregon)
  • NaLyssa Smith (Baylor)
  • Jenne Staiti (Georgia)
  • Hailey Van Lith (Louisville)


The list includes 10 players who have won gold medals playing for USA Basketball. Boston and Van Lith have each earned four gold medals; Cooke, Hillmon, Howard, Joens and Miller have each won two; and Jones, Prince and Smith have each earned one gold medal. 

Trials will take place April 18-21 to get the final roster down to 12 players.

The 2021 AmeriCup will be held June 11-19 in San Juan, Puerto Rico. The top four finishing teams will advance to compete in one of four 2022 FIBA World Cup Qualifying Tournaments in hopes of earning one of the 12 spots in the World Cup field.