all scores

Top seed will host WNBA Commissioner’s Cup final in July

Sue Bird raises the Commissioner’s Cup trophy after the Storm defeated the Sun in the 2021 championship game. (Norm Hall/Getty Images)

The WNBA season starts Friday, and the second annual Commissioner’s Cup also tips off. Ahead of the in-season tournament, the league announced that this year’s championship will take place on July 26 in the home arena of the team leading Commissioner’s Cup play.

Five of the 61 Commissioner’s Cup games will take place over the league’s opening weekend. Each team will play in 10 Commissioner’s Cup games between the start of the season and July 7.

This year, players will be competing for a prize pool of half a million dollars.

Through the competition, the Cup will promote voter registration and voting rights education ahead of the 2022 midterm elections. Each team has selected an organization tied to voting in their communities, and for each regular-season game, the winning team’s organization will receive $2,000 and the losing team’s organization will receive $500.

The championship game will feature a $10,000 donation to the winning team’s organization and $5,000 donation to the runner-up’s organization.

The organizations for each team are as follows:

  • Atlanta Dream: The King Center
  • Chicago Sky: My Block. My Hood. My City.
  • Connecticut Sun: League of Women Voters of Connecticut
  • Dallas Wings: This Is Project Texas
  • Indiana Fever: Indiana Black Expo
  • Las Vegas Aces: ACLU of Nevada
  • Los Angeles Sparks: Human Rights Campaign
  • Minnesota Lynx: ACLU of Minnesota
  • New York Liberty: A Little Piece of Light
  • Phoenix Mercury: Black Mothers Forum
  • Seattle Storm: ACLU of Washington
  • Washington Mystics: Alliance for Youth Action

Organizations also will be spotlighted in each team’s arena and on the league’s social media platforms.