WNBA unveils 25-game national TV schedule for 2022 regular season

(Barry Gossage/NBAE via Getty Images)

The WNBA released its 2022 television schedule on Thursday, with 25 regular season games scheduled to be broadcast nationally across ABC, ESPN and ESPN2. A WNBA record-tying nine regular-season games are scheduled to be broadcast on ABC.

Five games will air on ESPN and 10 will air on ESPN2.

“ESPN has been a stalwart broadcast partner for the WNBA for 26 consecutive years, and we are grateful they, in partnership with Google are providing significant opportunities to view WNBA games in 2022,” said WNBA Commissioner Cathy Engelbert. “From tip-off weekend through our expanded postseason, ESPN and Google are continuing to serve our growing fan base and providing an enormous national platform for WNBA players and fans.”

Additionally, the WNBA will be partnering with Google and Disney Networks to bring up to a possible 52 games to the screen, beginning with the regular season and extending through the postseason. As part of the partnership, Google will be the presenting partner of the WNBA Playoffs and its new, expanded format.

“When we became a WNBA Changemaker last year, our first goal was to increase the amount of women’s sports content available across broadcast and digital, and we’re proud of what we’ve accomplished so far in partnership with the WNBA and Disney,” said Joshua Spanier, Global Vice President of Marketing for Media, Google. “We look forward to working with them again this season as the Presenting Partner of the WNBA Playoffs to continue the push for equity and inclusion in women’s sports by giving fans – and advertisers – more opportunities to support and recognize these amazing athletes.”

An additional 40 games will air across CBS and CBS Sports networks. Additional streaming opportunities will be on NBA TV, Prime Video and Facebook Watch.

The season will tip off on Friday, May 6, with the league’s first game on ABC networks scheduled for the May 7 matchup between Connecticut and New York on ESPN.

The Chicago Sky and Phoenix Mercury will meet three times during the regular season in matchups across ABC, ESPN and ESPN2 in rematches of the 2021 WNBA Finals. The Sky will make six total appearances across the networks. The Connecticut Sun and Phoenix Mercury will each appear on ESPN networks eight times.