United States and Canada prepare to clash again at hockey worlds

Canada goalkeeper Ann-Renee Desbiens defends against Abby Roque and Alex Carpenter of the United States during the Beijing Olympics. (Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

This year offers double the hockey and double the fun with the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship set to kick off Thursday in Denmark.

A world championship and an Olympics never before have been played in the same year, which means 2022 Winter Games champion Canada could be the first team to score a golden double dip.

Canada won the gold medal at the Beijing Olympics over the United States and also won the 2021 world championship, besting the United States in both finals. The Canadian team will look for a third straight gold in Denmark.

Canada leads Group A and is joined by Finland, Japan, the United States and Switzerland. Group B features the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Sweden and Hungary. Every team from Group A and the top three teams from Group B advance to the knockout round.

In Group B, Denmark will look to avoid relegation to the lower division, the fate for the two teams that finish at the bottom of the lower group. Denmark would be just the second team in world championship history, men’s or women’s, to be relegated while hosting the event, joining the 2005 Austrian men’s team.

The United States and Canada look set to duke it out for the top spot in Group A.

During group play at the Olympics, Team USA won all its games except for those against Canada, which went undefeated. The hard-fought gold-medal game ended in a 3-2 win for the Canadians, with Marie-Philip Poulin once again providing the game winner after doing the same at the 2021 world championship.

“NHL 23” cover star Sarah Nurse is also a threat for Canada, having played her way up to the first line during the Olympics by leading the tournament in scoring.

Both Canada and the U.S. are sporting rosters similar to their Olympic squads, with just a few additions and subtractions.

In Group B, Sweden and the Czech Republic both look like strong contenders to advance to the knockout round. Both made it to the knockout round of the Olympic tournament before being eliminated by Canada and Team USA, respectively.

Full Schedule

All times listed in ET. Games in bold will be televised on NHL Network.

Thursday, Aug. 25:

  • Japan vs. USA, 9 a.m.
  • Germany vs. Hungary, 9:30 a.m.
  • Finland vs. Canada, 1 p.m.
  • Denmark vs. Sweden, 1:30 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 26:

  • Switzerland vs. Japan, 12:30 p.m.
  • Hungary vs. Czech Republic, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 27:

  • USA vs. Finland, 9 a.m.
  • Sweden vs. Germany, 9:30 a.m.
  • Canada vs. Switzerland, 1 p.m.
  • Czech Republic vs. Denmark, 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 28:

  • Japan vs. Canada, 9 a.m.
  • Denmark vs. Hungary, 11 a.m.

Monday, Aug. 29:

  • Finland vs. Japan, 9 a.m.
  • Germany vs. Czech Republic, 9:30 a.m.
  • USA vs. Switzerland, 1 p.m.
  • Hungary vs. Sweden, 1:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 30:

  • Sweden vs. Czech Republic, 9:30 a.m.
  • Switzerland vs. Finland, 10 a.m.
  • Denmark vs. Germany, 1:30 p.m.
  • USA vs. Canada, 2 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 1:

  • Quarterfinal #1, 10 a.m.
  • Quarterfinal #2, 2 p.m.
  • Quarterfinal #3, 6 a.m.
  • Quarterfinal #4, 11:30 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 3

  • Semifinal #1, 8 a.m. (NHL Network)
  • Semifinal #2, 12 p.m. (NHL Network)

Sunday, Sept. 4:

  • Bronze medal game, 9 a.m. (NHL Network)
  • Gold medal game, 1:30 p.m. (NHL Network)