all scores

World Cup 2023: What you need to know about the tournament

Sophia Smith and the USWNT will kick off their World Cup journey on July 21 against Vietnam. (Brad Smith/ISI Photos/Getty Images)

The 2023 Women’s World Cup kicks off in Australia and New Zealand on July 20. Here’s everything you need to know about the tournament.

When is it?

The tournament begins July 20 and will run through Aug. 20. The co-hosts will play in the opening matches: New Zealand will face Norway to start the festivities, and Australia will begin its run a few hours later against Ireland.

Where is it?

Matches will be split between Australia and New Zealand, with four sites in New Zealand and five sites in Australia.

  • Adelaide, AU – Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Auckland, NZ – Eden Park
  • Brisbane, AU – Brisbane Stadium
  • Dunedin, NZ – Dunedin Stadium
  • Hamilton, NZ – Waikato Stadium
  • Melbourne, AU – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
  • Perth, AU – Perth Rectangular Stadium
  • Sydney, AU – Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium
  • Wellington, NZ – Wellington Stadium

What is the draw?

The 32 teams at the tournament are divided into eight groups of four countries. The two highest-finishing teams from each group will advance to the 16-team knockout stage.

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
  • Group B: Australia, Canada, Nigeria, Republic of Ireland
  • Group C: Costa Rica, Japan, Spain, Zambia
  • Group D: China, Denmark, England, Haiti
  • Group E: Netherlands, United States, Vietnam, Portugal
  • Group F: Brazil, France, Jamaica, Panama
  • Group G: Argentina, Italy, South Africa, Sweden
  • Group H: Colombia, Germany, Morocco, South Korea

View the full schedule for the World Cup here.

What is the USWNT’s schedule?

The USWNT will play three games during the group stage, with the first coming against Vietnam at 9 p.m. ET Friday, July 21.

Group E includes the team the United States beat in the 2019 World Cup final, the Netherlands. Still, USWNT legend Julie Foudy said the squad landed a “very winnable group” — one that became even more winnable with Dutch star Vivianne Miedema’s ACL injury.

  • Friday, July 21 — 9 p.m. ET (Fox)
    • United States vs. Vietnam (Eden Park, Auckland)
  • Wednesday, July 26 — 9 p.m. ET (Fox)
    • United States vs. Netherlands (Wellington Regional)
  • Tuesday, Aug. 1 — 3 a.m. ET (Fox)
    • United States vs. Portugal (Eden Park, Auckland)

View the full USWNT schedule for the World Cup here.

What do the rosters look like?

Despite a rash of injuries to high-profile players, the rosters for the 2023 World Cup feature some of the world’s best talent.

Germany boasts the likes of Lena Oberdorf, Alexandra Popp and Lina Magull. Australia (Sam Kerr), Brazil (Marta, Debinha), England (Lucy Bronze, Alessia Russo) and France (Wendie Renard, Kadidiatou Diani) and more feature their own stars, all of whom will try to shine their brightest on the World Cup stage.

And then of course there’s the USWNT, with established names (Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe) and rising stars (Sophia Smith, Naomi Girma) alike.

Check out our running list of all 32 teams’ rosters, and check out the USWNT’s 23-player roster below.