The Billie Jean King Cup Finals kick off in Prague, Czech Republic, on Nov. 1, running through Nov. 6 at the O2 Arena.

Here’s everything you need to know about the one-of-a-kind team tennis event:

The Billie Jean King Cup’s history:

The Billie Jean King Cup, formally known as the Fed Cup, was established in 1963 and rebranded to bear the tennis legend’s name in 2020. The tournament is considered the pinnacle of women’s international team tennis, with Team USA having taken home a record 18 titles.


Twelve teams will compete in the Billie Jean King Cup, with the countries divided into four groups of three. Each team will play the two other countries in their group — two singles match, one doubles match — during the round-robin leg of the competition, with the winner of each group advancing to the semifinals. The competition then takes on a classic bracket-style format, with the winner of each semifinal match advancing to the final, where the world champion will be decided.

Group A: France, Russian Tennis Federation, Canada

Group B: Australia, Belarus, Belgium

Group C: USA, Spain, Slovakia

Group D: Czech Republic, Germany, Switzerland

Total prize pot:

$18 million, with the purse divided between players and their federations.

Who to watch:

Kathy Rinaldi will captain the US team, which consists of Jessica Pegula, Danielle Collins, Sloane Stephens, CoCo Vandeweghe, and Caroline Dolehide.

Pegula enters the Billie Jean King Cup after making a quarter-final run at Indian Wells, placing her in the Top 25 world rankings. Collins is also having a solid season, ranked 31st in the world, with the 27-year-old having advanced to the quarterfinals at the Chicago Fall Tennis Classic in September.