all scores

Cindy Parlow Cone re-elected as US Soccer president

(Brad Smith/ISI Photos/Getty Images)

Cindy Parlow Cone has been re-elected as U.S. Soccer president, defeating Carlos Cordeiro in Saturday’s head-to-head election.

Cone received 53 percent of the weighted vote, with 785.12 total votes to Cordeiro’s 698.26 during the U.S. Soccer Federation’s National Council Meeting in Atlanta.

Prior to the vote, 32 players on the United States women’s national team publicly endorsed Cone on Friday. Alex Morgan, Ali Krieger, Becky Sauerbrunn and Lynn Williams, all of whom had a vote in the election as members of the 23-player Athletes Council, were a part of the group that signed the letter backing Cone.

Cone will serve a four-year term, continuing the tenure she began in March 2020 when she took over the position from Cordeiro. The former president resigned amid a wave of backlash over the federation’s legal response to the USWNT’s equal pay lawsuit.

Last week, Cone helped usher in a historic settlement for USWNT players in their six-year legal fight over equal pay, the terms of which are contingent on the ratification of a CBA with U.S. Soccer.

“Despite our diverse viewpoints, at the end of the day, we are all on the same team and are working to grow the game to make it better for everyone,” Cone said on Saturday, underscoring the push for unity among U.S. Soccer’s divided factions.