all scores

Five Oklahoma players lead WCWS all-tournament team

The Oklahoma Sooners celebrate with the NCAA trophy after defeating Texas in the Women’s College World Series championship series. (Brian Bahr/Getty Images)

Oklahoma softball clinched its second straight Women’s College World Series title Thursday night, capping off a dominant tournament run.

The team’s reign was acknowledged with five selections to the 12-player WCWS all-tournament list. Jocelyn Alo, Rylie Boone, Jayda Coleman, Tiare Jennings and Hope Trautwein all made the cut.

Three players each were selected from Texas (Estelle Czech, Courtney Day, Bella Dayton) and UCLA (Maya Brady, Megan Faraimo, Delanie Wisz), and one Oklahoma State player (Kelly Maxwell) rounded out the list. All 12 players were on the four teams to reach the semifinals.

The Sooners shattered records in Oklahoma City, slamming 17 home runs during the WCWS (surpassing their 15 from last year) while notching a historic 64 total runs.

Since seeding began in 2005, Oklahoma is the first team to claim back-to-back national championships as the No.1 seed, according to ESPN. The Sooners won 115 of their 122 games over the last two years.

The Sooners dropped just one game during the tournament, falling to UCLA 7-3 on Monday before turning around and clobbering the Bruins 15-0 in a winner-take-all game in the semifinals.

When asked if this Oklahoma squad was the best to ever do it, Oklahoma coach coach Patty Gasso admitted the 2022 champions were in the conversation.

“I could rank them very, very high, if not the highest,” said Gasso after the game, “because everything they do looks so easy to me, and they do it so fast.”

Alo agreed, offering a blunt opinion. “I would say with me being a senior,” she said, “I think this is the best team.”