all scores

Hall of Fame inductees led by Yolanda Griffith, Lauren Jackson


The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame inducted new members this weekend, among them the late Kobe Bryant, who was inducted in 2020. 

In addition, some all-star women were announced as members of the class of 2021, including Yolanda Griffith and Lauren Jackson.

Griffith was a seven-time WNBA All-Star and two-time Olympic Gold Medalist in 2000 and 2004. In 1999, she won WNBA MVP and Defensive Player of the Year. In 2005, she helped the Sacramento Monarchs to their only WNBA Championship, winning Finals MVP in the process. That year she was also named to the All-WNBA First Team and WNBA All-Defensive First Team. 

Jackson, a seven-time WNBA All-Star (2001-2003, 2005-2007, 2009) and three-time WNBA MVP (2003, 2007, 2010), was a long-time staple for the Seattle Storm. She helped lead the Storm to WNBA Championships in 2004 and 2010, collecting Finals MVP honors in 2010. In 2007, while leading the league in rebounding and points per game, Jackson was named Defensive Player of the Year. She is also a three-time Olympic silver medalist (2000, 2004, 2008) with the Australian national team.

Also among the inductees was Val Ackerman, widely regarded as a trailblazer in the basketball world and a significant contributor to women’s basketball. Ackerman has been involved at every level of the sport, first as the WNBA’s founding president (1996-2005), then the first female president of USA Basketball (2005-2008). She is currently the Big East Conference Commissioner, a role she has held since 2013. 

Pearl Moore was also inducted as a direct elect as the women’s college basketball all-time leader in points scored with 4,061. A four-time AIAW Small College All-American from 1975-1979 at Francis Marion College, Moore averaged 30 points per game and scored in double figures. 

Other weekend inductees from the class of 2020 include Tamika Catchings, new-LSU coach Kim Mulkey and Barbara Stevens.