all scores

NCAA volleyball tournament: Nebraska, Wisconsin reach Final Four

Wisconsin setter MJ Hammill attempts to save the ball in a match against Nebraska on Nov. 24. (Jovanny Hernandez/USA TODAY NETWORK)

The NCAA volleyball tournament has reached its final four, with Nebraska, Pitt and Wisconsin all advancing as No. 1 seeds. Reigning champion Texas also reached the semifinals as a No. 2 seed.

In the quarterfinals, Nebraska beat Arkansas in four sets, as did Wisconsin with Oregon. Texas upset top-seeded Stanford in four sets to advance. Pitt was the only team to go to five sets in its regional final, besting last year’s national runner-up Louisville.

For the Longhorns, this year marks their 15th Final Four and their 11th in the last 16 seasons. They’ll face Wisconsin, which won the national championship in 2021 and is into its fourth Final Four in the last five years.

“We’re still climbing,” Badgers senior Devyn Robinson said. “We haven’t reached our best volleyball so we’re on our way up.”

Nebraska, meanwhile, entered the tournament as the No. 1 overall seed. The Huskers finished as runner-up in 2021, and their last championship came in 2017.

Pitt is the only team among the final four never to have won a national championship, or to have advanced to the championship match. The Panthers will have the chance to do so Thursday, but they will have to go through Nebraska in order to do it.

The semifinals and championship will take place at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Florida.

NCAA women’s volleyball tournament: Schedule

  • Semifinals: Thursday, Dec. 14 (ESPN)
    • No. 1 Nebraska vs. No. 1 Pitt — 7 p.m. ET
    • No. 1 Wisconsin vs. No. 2 Texas — 9:30 p.m. ET
  • Championship: Sunday, Dec. 17 (ABC) 
    • Semifinal winners — 3 p.m. ET