Nneka Ogwumike wins record third sportsmanship award

Sparks forward and WNBPA president Nneka Ogwumike (Douglas P. DeFelice / Getty Images)

Nneka Ogwumike is the 2021 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award winner for the third consecutive year, the WNBA announced Sunday.

Ogwumike is the only player to have won the award in three consecutive years.

The WNBPA president earned 19 out of 49 votes. Coming in second was the Atlanta Dream’s Elizabeth Williams who received eight votes.

According to the WNBA, the award is presented to a player who “exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play and integrity.”

As president of the WNBPA, Ogwumike played an instrumental role in negotiating the league’s newest Collective Bargaining Agreement. She also helped lead much of the league’s social justice efforts.

This season, the 2016 WNBA MVP led the Sparks with 14.5 points and 6.5 rebounds in 1 games.