all scores

Jaelin Howell, Naomi Girma named to USWNT’s youth-heavy January roster

Francois Nel/Getty Images

The U.S. Women’s National Team announced its 25-player roster for the annual January training camp Wednesday. This year’s camp will take place in Austin, Texas from Jan. 19-28.

It’s the first action of 2022 for the USWNT, sans any international matches. Instead, the first matches of the year for the USWNT will take place at the 2022 SheBelieves Cup, which will take place Feb. 17-23 and feature the Czech Republic, Iceland and New Zealand.

“Without any matches that we need to taper for, we can get in some more intense trainings and full-field scrimmages, which is great as we need to give this group as many chances as possible to play together in a National Team environment,” said Andonovski. “We understand that some of the players are coming off a break, so we’ll keep that in mind as we hit the ground running in 2022 for what will be a very important year for these players and our team.”

Trinity Rodman will see her first senior national team call-up with this camp. The reigning NWSL Rookie of the Year is the only player on the roster earning their first call-up.

Naomi Girma, the No. 1 overall pick in the 2022 NWSL Draft, is earning her second full call-up to the women’s national team. Jaelin Howell, the second overall pick and recent MAC Hermann trophy award winner, is once again on the roster. Howell earned her first cap in November 2020 and was featured on the 2021 SheBelieves Cup roster.

Sam Mewis and Alyssa Naeher each return to the roster after previously missing time with injuries.

Full roster:

Goalkeepers: Aubrey Kingsbury (Washington Spirit), Casey Murphy (North Carolina Courage), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

Defenders: Alana Cook (OL Reign), Abby Dahlkemper (San Diego Wave FC), Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), Imani Dorsey (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Emily Fox (Racing Louisville FC), Naomi Girma (San Diego Wave FC), Sofia Huerta (OL Reign), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit)

Midfielders: Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Jaelin Howell (Racing Louisville FC), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Kristie Mewis (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Samantha Mewis (Kansas City Current), Ashley Sanchez (Washington Spirit), Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)

Forwards: Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars), Margaret Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit), Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns FC), Lynn Williams (Kansas City Current)