Women’s Euro 2022 groups set as tournament resumes in England

(Alex Caparros/FIFA via Getty Images)

The group stage of the Women’s Euro 2022 tournament is set, with hosts England drawing Norway, Austria and Northern Ireland in Group A.

The tournament, originally scheduled for 2021, was pushed back a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Now, the Euros will run from July 6 to July 31 in 2022, with London’s Wembley Stadium hosting the championship game.

England and Austria will open the tournament on July 6 at Old Trafford. Four days later, Norway will face Northern Ireland on July 11.

Group B features eight-time Euro winner Germany, Denmark, Spain and Finland. The Netherlands, 2019 World Cup finalists, are joined by Olympic silver medalists Sweden, Russia and Switzerland in Group C. France, Italy, Belgium and Iceland will meet in Group D.

The 16 teams will share a total of 16 million pounds in prize money, double the 8 million pound pool distributed in 2017.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the quarterfinals.