Haiti players celebrate during the 2022 Concacaf W Championship. (Alfredo Estrella/AFP via Getty Images)

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is fast approaching, with nations locking up qualifying spots throughout this summer’s qualifying tournaments.

Some teams, however, will have to wait to earn their World Cup berths through February’s intercontinental playoffs.

The competition will decide the final three final entrants to the 2023 World Cup, with 10 teams from all six confederations participating in the play-in tournament.

Where: 2023 FIFA World Cup co-host New Zealand will hold the contest starting on February 17, with teams competing in two of the World Cup venues.

Who has qualified: Teams that narrowly missed out on qualification via their confederations’ qualifying tournaments will join the intercontinental playoff field.

  • AFC (Asia): Chinese Taipei, Thailand
  • CAF (Africa): Senegal, Cameroon
  • Concacaf (North America): Haiti, Panama
  • Conmebol (South America): Chile, TBD
  • OFC (Oceania): TBD
  • UEFA (Europe): TBD


  • The 10-team field will be divided into two groups of three teams and one group of four teams.
  • Four teams will receive seeded spots in the groups. Seeds will be awarded based on the FIFA world rankings, with a maximum of one seeded team per confederation.
  • The top two seeds will receive the top spots in Group 1 and Group 2, respectively, and will receive first-round byes. The top seed in each group will face the winner of the first-round match between the two unseeded teams in the group final.
  • The third- and fourth-seeded teams will receive the top spots in Group 3. Each will face off against one of the two unseeded teams in the first round for a spot in the group final.
  • The winners of Group 1, Group 2 and Group 3 will stamp their tickets to the 2023 World Cup.

The 2023 World Cup will feature a 32-team draw and will kick off in Australia and New Zealand starting on July 20, 2023.