all scores

Caitlin Clark, Angel Reese headline Player of the Year watchlists

Angel Reese celebrates LSU's national championship win over Iowa with a Caitlin Clark-inspired celebration. (Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)

Caitlin Clark and Angel Reese headline the watchlists for end-of-season Player of the Year awards.

The Iowa guard and LSU forward are coming off career seasons, as Clark swept the national awards but Reese and the Tigers beat the Hawkeyes in the national championship game. Both are among the front-runners for the Naismith Trophy and the Wade Trophy, two of the most prestigious individual honors in women’s college basketball.

The watchlist for the Naismith Women’s Player of the Year award includes 50 names. While Clark is the lone representative for Iowa, LSU leads all schools with four players: Reese, Flau’jae Johnson, Aneesah Morrow and Hailey Van Lith.

UConn has three players on the list in Paige Bueckers, Aaliyah Edwards and Azzi Fudd. Other notable names include Stanford’s Cameron Brink, South Carolina’s Kamilla Cardoso, Indiana’s Mackenzie Holmes and Tennessee’s Rickea Jackson.

The watchlist for the Wade Trophy, presented by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, includes just 16 players, listed below. LSU leads with three, and UConn and Virginia Tech have two each.

Wade Trophy: 2023-24 preseason watchlist

  • Georgia Amoore, Virginia Tech
  • Cameron Brink, Stanford
  • Paige Bueckers, UConn
  • Kamilla Cardoso, South Carolina
  • Caitlin Clark, Iowa
  • Aaliyah Edwards, UConn
  • Rori Harmon, Texas
  • Mackenzie Holmes, Indiana
  • Rickea Jackson, Tennessee
  • Elizabeth Kitley, Virginia Tech
  • Ta’Niya Latson, Florida State
  • Olivia Miles, Notre Dame
  • Aneesah Morrow, LSU
  • Alissa Pili, Utah
  • Angel Reese, LSU
  • Hailey Van Lith, LSU