all scores

Everything we know about the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup


FIFA issued its branding for the 2023 Women’s World Cup, hosted by Australia and New Zealand, on Thursday, with a new tournament slogan, “Beyond Greatness.”

The new slogan, FIFA says, “aims to unite and inspire people around the world” through both the power of the Women’s World Cup and women’s soccer. The branding identity and emblem feature bright colors, meant to incorporate the “vibrant local landscapes and rich colours” of both New Zealand and Australia. As a result, FIFA built a palette based on the geographical attributes of the two countries, including the rainforests, mountains, cities and water that surround both countries.

A radical motif on the logo features 32 squares surrounding a soccer ball, which is meant to celebrate the tournament’s expansion to 32 participating nations. Additionally, the logo includes elements inspired by the indigenous cultures of Australia and New Zealand.

Here’s everything you need to know about the 2023 Women’s World Cup:


The tournament is set to kick off July 20 and run through August 20, 2023.


The 2023 Women’s World Cup is set to be hosted by Australia and New Zealand. As such, the games will be split between the two countries, with four sites in New Zealand and five sites in Australia.

Host cities and stadiums: 

Nine cities will play host to the 2023 Women’s World Cup. They are:

  • Adelaide, AU – Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Auckland, NZ – Eden Park
  • Brisbane, AU – Brisbane Stadium
  • Dunedin, NZ – Dunedin Stadium
  • Hamilton, NZ – Waikato Stadium
  • Melbourne, AU – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
  • Perth, AU – Perth Rectangular Stadium
  • Sydney, AU – Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium
  • Wellington, NZ – Wellington Stadium

How do teams qualify?

Qualification for the next World Cup is already underway, with the 2023 UEFA FIFA Women’s World Cup qualification (UEFA) period having begun on Sept. 16 and the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup (AFC) having started on Sept. 17. The 2022 Africa Women Cup of Nations (CAF) began on Oct. 18.

As host teams, Australia and New Zealand are the only two teams to have earned automatic qualification, with their slots being taken directly from the quotas allocated to their federations, the AFC and OFC.

The 2022 CONCACAF W Championship (CONCACAF) is set to begin February 16, 2022 and conclude July 24, 2022. In total, 32 teams — including the USWNT and the reigning Olympic champions, Canada — will compete in the CONCACAF Championship, which announced a revamping of the tournament in August. Both the USWNT and Canada have already automatically qualified for the final stage of the championship.

The 2022 Copa América Femenina (CONMEBOL) will begin on July 8, 2022 and conclude on July 30, 2022 with three direct slots. Two teams that don’t receive direct qualification will advance to the playoffs.

The 2022 OFC Women’s Nations Cup (OFC) will begin on July 5, 2022 and end on July 31, 2022. With one direct slot already being taken by New Zealand, that leaves one playoff spot for the remaining 10 teams.

The 2023 UEFA FIFA Women’s World Cup qualification, set to conclude on October 11, 2022, has 11 total slots allocated as well as one playoff spot. So far, no teams have been eliminated from the 51 competing.

The inter-confederation playoffs will determine the final three qualification spots for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The playoff tournament, running from February 17th to the 23rd in 2023, will be used as a test event for Australia and New Zealand to host prior to the Women’s World Cup. Ten teams will be split into three groups, with the winner of each qualifying for the World Cup. Australia and New Zealand will also participate in friendlies against teams in two of the groups.

In total, 32 teams will qualify for the 2023 Women’s World Cup, up from 24 in 2019.