United States, Canada name rosters for hockey worlds

Kendall Coyne Schofield and Team USA finished second to Canada at the 2022 Winter Olympics. (Xavier Laine/Getty Images)

The United States and Canada have named their rosters for the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship, which is set to take place in Denmark beginning Aug. 25.

The tournament comes just six months after the bitter rivals met in the gold-medal game at the Beijing Olympics. This marks the first time a world championship and the Olympics have been held in the same year, and Canada could double its gold medal total for 2022 after besting the United States 3-2 in Beijing.

U.S. Roster

For United States, a total of 18 players from the Olympics will take the ice in Denmark.

Lacey Eden and Aerin Frankel, who were part of the 2021 national team but not named to the Olympic roster, are also included, as well three newcomers to round out the 23-player roster: Hannah Bilka, Taylor Heise and Rory Guilday.

Forward Hilary Knight will make her 12th world championship appearance, while Kendall Coyne Schofield will make her ninth.

John Wroblewski will lead the team as head coach.

“We had an incredibly competitive week at this year’s national festival,” said Katie Million, USA Hockey ‘s Director of Women’s National Programs. “Choosing a team is never easy, but these 23 players earned the right to put on the U.S. jersey. We’re excited to bring this team to Denmark, as we look to take home a women’s world championship title.”


  • Aerin Frankel
  • Maddie Rooney
  • Nicole Hensley


  • Caroline Harvey
  • Cayla Barnes
  • Jincy Dunne
  • Lee Stecklein
  • Megan Keller
  • Rory Guilday
  • Savannah Harmon


  • Abby Roque
  • Alex Carpenter
  • Amanda Kessel
  • Grace Zumwinkle
  • Hannah Blika
  • Hannah Brandt
  • Hayley Scamurra
  • Hilary Knight
  • Jesse Compher
  • Kelly Pannek
  • Kendall Coyne Schofield
  • Lacey Eden
  • Taylor Heise

Canada roster

Canada also will have 18 members from their gold-medal winning Olympic team returning for worlds. The reigning champions will attempt to win back-to-back world titles for the first time since they won three straight from 1999 to 2001.

“We had a great year, we had the world championship, we had the Olympics, we had a moment where we celebrated, but now we’re back to work,” captain Marie-Philip Poulin said. Poulin factored heavily in the last two tournaments, scoring the overtime winner at last summer’s worlds to beat the U.S. and scoring twice in the Olympic final to help Canada to gold.

Among the other returning veterans are forwards Blayre Turnbull and Brianne Jenner, who was named MVP of the Olympic tournament. Goaltender Ann-Renée Desbiens will return to the net for Canada.

“We want to keep building on that and see how far we can push ourselves and push our team,” Turnbull said. “Although it was a pretty quick turnaround, I don’t think there was much hesitation with the older girls on the team to get back here and to get back to this environment.”

Rebecca Johnston, Melodie Daoust, Natalie Spooner and Claire Thompson – all members of the Olympic team – did not report to camp for various personal reasons and have not been named to the team.


  • Ann-Renée Desbiens
  • Emerance Maschmeyer
  • Kristen Campbell


  • Jocelyne Larocque
  • Meaghan Mikkelson
  • Renata Fast
  • Ella Shelton
  • Ashton Bell
  • Erin Ambrose
  • Micah Zandee-Hart


  • Laura Stacey
  • Jessie Eldridge 
  • Sarah Fillier 
  • Brianne Jenner 
  • Sarah Nurse
  • Emily Clark 
  • Emma Maltais 
  • Marie-Philip Poulin 
  • Blayre Turnbull 
  • Kristin O’Neill 
  • Sarah Potomak 
  • Jamie Lee Rattray 
  • Victoria Bach