all scores

North Carolina wins third-straight NCAA Field Hockey title


It took seven total goals and overtime, but eventually North Carolina won its third consecutive NCAA Field Hockey championship on home turf.

Erin Matson, whose name was all over the scoresheet Sunday afternoon, scored the sudden-death goal in the seventh minute of overtime to lift the Tar Heels over Michigan, 4-3.

For Matson, it was her third goal of the game and 30th of the season.

With the win, the Tar Heels claimed three consecutive championships for the second time in program history, with the first three coming from 1995-97. They also tied Old Dominion for an NCAA-best ninth title.

The victory marked one other unique feat: The Tar Heels have never lost in their home stadium.

The scoring broke open in the 10th minute, with Kate Burney striking first for Michigan. Matson went on to tie it for North Carolina 33 seconds later.

Bryn Boylan was the only other Tar Heel to score, giving North Carolina its first lead with a penalty stroke goal in the 18th minute. Matson would make it 3-1 in the 38th minute.

Kathryn Peterson and Sarah Pyrtek did work in the 40th and 45th minutes for the Wolverines, scoring goals that erased a two-goal deficit late in the third quarter and sent the game to overtime.

Check out all of the highlights below.