OL Reign’s Laura Harvey named 2021 NWSL Coach of the Year

(Photo by Jane Gershovich/ISI Photos/Getty Images)

OL Reign head coach Laura Harvey has been voted the 2021 NWSL Coach of the Year.

The award marks her third time winning, the most of any coach in the NWSL. It’s her first since winning the award in 2014 and 2015, when she led the Reign to back-to-back NWSL Shields and championship final appearances. At the time, she was also the first coach to win the award on multiple occasions.

Harvey joined OL Reign midway through the season, after the Olympics, following the departure of Farid Benstiti. Under Harvey, OL Reign went on an eight-game unbeaten streak, outsourcing opponents 25-9. They finished the season 7-7-2 and in second place in league standings, securing a semifinal spot and the team’s first time hosting a playoff match since 2015.

Recently, the team announced they had extended Harvey through the 2023 season.

“We are incredibly happy for Laura, as this honor is well-deserved recognition for all she has achieved since her return to the club,” said OL Reign CEO Bill Predmore in a release. “The results she delivered since taking the helm mid-season exceeded all expectations and serves as a testament to her extraordinary talents. We are proud to have her leading our team again.”

Portland Thorns FC coach Mark Parsons finished second in voting while NJ/NY Gotham FC’s Scott Parkinson finished third.

Just Women’s Sports had previously named Harvey as the 2021 NWSL Coach of the Year.