all scores

England’s Wiegman, Spain’s Putellas take home UEFA awards

Sarina Wiegman has won England its first Euros title. (Naomi Baker/Getty Images)

Sarina Wiegman was named the UEFA Coach of the Year on Thursday after helping lead England to its first Euros title, while Spain’s Alexia Putellas is the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year for the second consecutive year.

Since taking over the England post, Wiegman has been on a tear. The team has yet to lose a match during her tenure and players like Beth Mead have thrived. Mead won the Euros Golden Boot, which goes to the tournament’s highest scorer, and finished as one of the top two runners-up to Putellas for the Player of the Year.

This year brought the first Coach of the Year award for Wiegman but her second Euros title. She also won in 2017 as manager for the Netherlands.

“It’s really nice to receive this very great award and I’m very honored,” Wiegman said. “This award really is for everyone involved with the England team. The FA, the staff and of course, all the players. Since I started in September, things have gone really well. We’ve really enjoyed it and we’ve performed at the highest level. Our fans have been very great too, so thank you.”

Putellas becomes the first women’s player to win the award in back-to-back years.

A star for Barcelona, she played in 26 matches in the Primera División in 2021-22, scoring 18 goals and adding 15 assists. In the Champions League, she notched two goals through nine matches.

The midfielder is also up for the Ballon d’Or after winning it last year.