all scores

USWNT announces 23-player roster for Houston Summer Series


The US Women’s National Team has announced its 23-player roster for the Summer Series, set to take place in Houston June 10-13.

Featuring 19 NWSL players and four players from clubs in Europe, the Series will be a last-chance tune-up before the Olympic roster is announced. 

Carli Lloyd is the most experienced player on the roster, while 20-year old forward Sophia Smith is the youngest. Smith was four years old when Lloyd made her USWNT debut.

Forward Tobin Heath will be joining camp as a training player as she continues to come back from a knee injury. After suffering an MCL injury during the first NWSL game of the season, midfielder Julie Ertz has also been ruled out of the Summer Series and will be absent from the team. 

Midfielder Catarina Macario is missing from the roster but will be joining the U.S. team from France where she is currently on a roll with Lyon, having scored in five consecutive games. Another notable inclusion is Andi Sullivan, who is back with the national team after tearing the medial meniscus in her left knee during the 2020 NWSL Challenge Cup. 

Both Sam and Kristie Mewis have once again been named to the USWNT roster, holding the record for the most games played together as sisters (4). The two are approaching a combined 100 caps between them — the current record for sisters is 123 caps between Lorrie Fair (120) and Ronnie Fair (3). 

Notably, goalkeeper Adrianna Franch is back in the fold after missing the last several camps, while goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris and defender Ali Krieger seem to be on the outside looking in.

Full roster below:

Goalkeepers (3): 

  • Jane Campbell (Houston Dash)
  • Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC)
  • Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

Defenders (8): 

  • Alana Cook (Paris Saint-Germain, FRA)
  • Abby Dahlkemper (Manchester City, ENG)
  • Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars)
  • Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns FC)
  • Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit)
  • Margaret Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC)
  • Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC)
  • Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit)

Midfielders (6):

  • Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC)
  • Rose Lavelle (OL Reign)
  • Catarina Macario (Olympique Lyonnais, FRA)
  • Kristie Mewis (Houston Dash)
  • Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage)
  • Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)

Forwards (6): 

  • Carli Lloyd (NJ/NY Gotham FC)
  • Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride)
  • Christen Press (Manchester United, ENG)
  • Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign)
  • Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns FC)
  • Lynn Williams (North Carolina Courage)

The Summer Series for the USA will begin with a match against Portugal on June 10 at 8:30 p.m. ET on FS1.