all scores

USWNT announces 23 player roster for Gold Cup

Jaedyn Shaw and Mia Fishel are back in the USWNT lineup. (Brad Smith/ISI Photos/Getty Images for USSF)

The U.S. women’s national team (USWNT) dropped its first roster of the year on Wednesday, naming the 23-player Gold Cup roster.

Of those named to interim head coach Twila Kilgore’s roster, 21 were present with the USWNT for its December friendlies. Both Alyssa Naeher and Crystal Dunn return to the roster to round out the 23 players.

“Not only is there a trophy on the line, but this is a great opportunity to capitalize on meaningful match opportunities and experience the short turnarounds between games, which is a rhythm that closely mirrors the Olympic format,” said Kilgore. “We are going to take our next steps together as we continue to evolve our style of play and provide opportunities for players to grow into possible future roles and partnerships.

“There is something special about tournament play and what it can bring out of players. We are hopefully going to be together for a month and we are looking forward to both finding and enjoying that working rhythm required to be in tournament for long stretches while upholding and driving our standards forward. We can’t wait for the opportunity.”

Some players will be coming from NWSL preseason, while four will come from Europe. Mia Fishel, Olivia Moultrie, Jaedyn Shaw and Korbin Albert are once again on the roster. Midge Purce, Trinity Rodman, Sophia Smith and Lynn Williams round out the team’s forwards.

It’s a relatively young roster, with just two players having 100 or more caps: Crystal Dunn (140) and Lindsey Horan (139). Seven of the players have less than seven caps.

Prior to the tournament beginning, three non-rostered players will train with the team. That includes Mallory Swanson, who will make her return to U.S. camp for the first time since suffering a patella tendon tear that kept her out of the 2023 World Cup.

The others will be Savannah DeMelo and defender Gisele Thompson, the younger sister of Alyssa Thompson.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Casey Murphy (North Carolina Courage), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (8): Alana Cook (Seattle Reign FC), Abby Dahlkemper (San Diego Wave FC), Tierna Davidson (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Crystal Dunn (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Emily Fox (Arsenal FC, ENG), Naomi Girma (San Diego Wave FC), Casey Krueger (Washington Spirit), Jenna Nighswonger (NY/NJ Gotham FC)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Korbin Albert (Paris Saint-Germain, FRA), Sam Coffey (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Olympique Lyon, FRA), Rose Lavelle (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Olivia Moultrie (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Sonnett (NJ/NY Gotham FC)

FORWARDS (6): Mia Fishel (Chelsea FC, ENG), Midge Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit), Jaedyn Shaw (San Diego Wave FC), Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns FC), Lynn Williams (NJ/NY Gotham FC)