all scores

Eight NWSL players named to U-23 US Women’s Youth National Team

Racing Louisville’s Savannah Demelo and teammates celebrate a goal against the San Diego Wave FC. (USA TODAY Sports)

Eight NWSL players will travel to Sweden in the upcoming international break after they were named to the USWNT U-23 team.

It’ll be the first international matches for the 21-player squad since 2019.

While in Sweden, the USWNT U-23 team will face off against India — the first match between a USWNT team and the country — as well as Sweden.

The tournament is allowing up to five overage players, with Ava Cook, Savannah DeMelo and Shelby Hogan all being named to the squad having been born in 1998. Other NWSL players include Anna Heilferty, Kerry Abello, Mikayla Cluff, Taryn Torres and Brianna Pinto.

A total of 12 collegiate players grace the roster, while 17-year-old Alyssa Thompson is the lone youth club player and the only player from the 2022 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup roster on the squad.

The team will be coached by Jené Baclawski, who is currently U.S. Soccer’s Coach Educator and a member of the SheBelieves Cup MVP selection committee.

The full roster:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Shelby Hogan (Portland Thorns FC; Franklin, Mass.), Ruthie Jones (Duke; Charlotte, N.C.)

DEFENDERS (5): Kerry Abello (Orlando Pride; Batavia, Ill.), Megan Bornkamp (Clemson; Mooresville, N.C.), Emily Madril (Florida State; Boise, Idaho), Brianna Martinez (Notre Dame; Albuquerque, N.M.), Kate Wiesner (Penn State; Monrovia, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Hannah Bebar (Harvard; Naperville, Ill.), Croix Bethune (USC; Alpharetta, Ga.), Mikayla Cluff (Orlando Pride; Kaysville, Utah), Savannah DeMelo (Racing Louisville FC; Long Beach, Calif.), Sierra Enge (Stanford; Cardiff, Calif.), Jenna Nighswonger (Florida State; Huntington Beach, Calif.), Brianna Pinto (North Carolina Courage; Durham, N.C.), Taryn Torres (NJ/NY Gotham FC; Frisco, Texas)

FORWARDS (6): Messiah Bright (TCU; Dallas, Texas), Ava Cook (Chicago Red Stars; Battle Creek, Mich.), Anna Heilferty (Washington Spirit; Falls Church, Va.), Samantha Meza (UNC; Dallas, Texas), Alexa Spaanstra (Virginia; Brighton, Mich.), Alyssa Thompson (Total Futbol Academy; Studio City, Calif.)