all scores

2023 Women’s World Cup Hub: News, schedule, rosters and more

(Photo Illustration by Aleksandr Gusev/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is underway. To help you stay up-to-date on news, game schedules, roster updates and more, Just Women’s Sports has created this World Cup hub. Make sure to bookmark this page so you can keep tabs on the latest news and updates from Australia and New Zealand.

Latest World Cup News

July 23, 2023:

July 22, 2023:

July 21, 2023:

July 20, 2023:

July 19, 2023:

How to Watch the 2023 World Cup

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup began on July 20 and runs through August 20. A complete tournament schedule can be found here.

WWC Scouting Reports

Who made the 2023 U.S. World Cup roster?

Here is the U.S. Soccer roster for the 2023 Women’s World Cup:

Goalkeepers (3)

Defenders (7)

Midfielders (7)

Forwards (6)

If you want to learn more about the 23 players who made the USWNT by experience level or their NWSL team, we’ve got you covered:

What about WWC rosters for the rest of the world?

Which USA players are missing the Women’s World Cup?

Injuries have sidelined quite a few players from this summer’s tournament, while other athletes have fallen out of favor with the national teams since the 2019 World Cup. Here are a few resources on the topic:

Who are the USWNT captains?

With Becky Sauerbrunn absent due to injury, U.S. head coach Vlatko Andonovski selected Lindsey Horan and Alex Morgan to serve as co-captains. Read more about their selection here.

For the latest news and analysis, follow our dedicate homepages for the USWNT and the Women’s World Cup.

2023 Women’s World Cup Groups and Tournament Format

The Women’s World Cup field expanded from 24 teams to 32 teams for 2023. The 32 teams are split into eight groups of four:

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
  • Group B: Australia, Ireland, Nigeria, Canada
  • Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan
  • Group D: England, Denmark, China, Haiti
  • Group E: United States, Netherlands, Portugal, Vietnam
  • Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Panama
  • Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina
  • Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea

The top two teams from each group will advance to a 16-team bracket for the knockout rounds. More information about the tournament format and tie breaking procedures can be found here.